LA Experience

Although the LA experience is somewhat different for each discipline, the experience for all LAs involves three related activities:

  • Content: LAs meet weekly with their faculty instructor to plan for the upcoming week, reflect on the previous week, and analyze assessment data
  • Practice: LAs facilitate collaboration among learning teams by formatively assessing student understanding and asking guiding questions
  • Pedagogy: LAs from all departments attend a special Mathematics and Science Education Seminar where they reflect on their own teaching and learning and make connections to relevant education literature

Explicit details are located in this FAQ.

To learn more about becoming a Learning Assistant, contact one of the faculty listed in the table below.

Contact List for Mathematics & Science Learning Assistant Community

Biology
Benabentos, Rocio
HHMI Associate Director
AHC4-321
305-348-5946
rocio.benabentos@fiu.edu

Chemistry
Swamy, Uma
Senior Lecturer
Chemistry
CP 316
305-348-2606
Uma.Swamy@fiu.edu

Earth Science
Whitman, Dean
Associate Professor
Earth & Environment
PC 325
305-348-3089
Dean.Whitman@fiu.edu

Engineering
Leshem, Hagit
LA Program Director
STEM Transformation Institute
AHC4-322
305-348-7682
hkornrei@fiu.edu

Mathematics
Edward, Julian
Professor
Mathematics
DM 424
305-348-3050
Julian.Edward@fiu.edu

Physics
Jones, David
Teacher in Residence & Instructor
Physics
VH 167
305-348-4881
David.Jones1@fiu.edu

Kramer, Laird
Associate Professor
Physics
CP 211
305-348-6073
Laird.Kramer@fiu.edu

Psychology
Richie, Rachel
Instructor
Psychology
DM 281B
rritchie@fiu.edu

College of Arts & Sciences
Joseph, Esther
Faculty Administrator
Secondary Education Programs
AHC4 359
305-348-4874
Esther.Joseph@fiu.edu

Mastery Math Lab
Leanne Wells
Mastery Math Lab Director
AHC4 359
305-348-4874
Leanne.Wells1@fiu.edu

To learn more about the Learning Assistant programs at FIU, contact Laird Kramer (Project Director) at 305.348.6073 or Laird.Kramer@fiu.edu.

You can also contact Hagit Leshem (Director of FIU Learning Assistant Program) hkornrei@fiu.edu or David Jones (Physics Teacher-in-Residence and CHEPREO Coordinator) at djones@fiu.edu.